skip to main contentskip to popular page linksskip to main navigation links
Office Hours Program Social Security Calculator Translate this page into another language
photo of Mike Capuano Michael E. Capuano representing the 7th district of Massachusetts in the U.S. House of Representatives Go to the House of Representatives homepage
Visit Mike's video channel on YouTube Like Mike on Facebook


 My Schedule My Voting Record District Maps Register To Vote FAQ Site Map e-Updates
Print Version-Press Release: Capuano Urges Administration to Stop TARP Recipients from Paying Out Big Bonuses


Capuano Urges Administration to Stop TARP Recipients from Paying Out Big Bonuses

January 22, 2010

Today, Rep. Mike Capuano and fifteen of his House colleagues wrote to Kenneth Feinberg, Pay Czar of the Troubled Relief Asset Program (TARP), and Timothy Geithner, Secretary of the U.S. Treasury, to urge them to prohibit TARP recipients who still owe money to taxpayers from paying out big bonuses.

In the letter [PDF], Members asked the Administration to explain how the compensation rules they issued were “sufficient in stopping TARP recipients from paying out excessive bonuses.” Recent reports indicate that AIG, which received $185 billion in TARP assistance last year, is planning to pay out big bonuses again in March. Rep. Capuano urged the Administration to retract TARP funds from institutions that award bonuses while still owing taxpayers. “These institutions clearly no longer need taxpayer support,” wrote the Members in reference to companies that still hold TARP dollars.

"This is insulting to taxpayers who are struggling to make ends meet for their own families,” said Rep. Capuano. "And it shows what these firms think of Treasury’s so-called “enforcement” up to this date.”

The following members co-signed the letter: Rep. Tammy Baldwin, Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr., Rep. Russ Carnahan, Rep. Mary Jo Kilroy, Rep. Paul E. Kanjorski, Rep. Gary C. Peters, Rep. Peter Welch, Rep. Luis V. Gutierrez, Rep. Paul W. Hodes, Rep. Sam Farr, Rep. Dennis Moore, Rep. Dana Rohrabacher, Rep. Stephen F. Lynch, Rep. Gwen Moore, and Rep. Steve Driehaus.

Contact: Alison M. Mills 617-621-6208

8,593 subscribers




Home | About | Biography | Contact | Issues | Links | News | Schedules | Services

E-Updates | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Accessibility

110 First Street
Cambridge, MA 02141
P: (617) 621-6208
F: (617) 621-8628

Roxbury Community College
Campus Library
Room 211

Stetson Hall
Room 124
6 South Main Street

  Constituent Services Click to close menu
  Casework and Constituent Assistance
  Citizenship/Naturalization Information
  Immigration Casework
  Ordering Flags Flown Over The Capitol
  Presidential Greetings
  U.S. Service Academy Nominations
  Internship Programs
  Washington, D.C. Attractions
  Grants and Federal Domestic Assistance
  News and Multimedia Center Click to close menu
  Recent Votes
  Press Items
  Video and Audio
  Photo Gallery
  Legislative Issues Click to close menu
  Mike on the Issues
  Recent Votes
  Mike's Voting Record
  Scorecards for Mike's Votes in Congress
  Legislation Sponsored by Mike
  Earmark Requests
  Committees and Caucuses
  Ethics Task Force
  Congressional Schedules Click to close menu
  Mike's Schedule
  House Floor Summary
  Weekly House Schedule
  Annual House Calendar
  Weekly Senate Schedule
  About The 7th District Click to close menu
  The 7th District Over the Years
  Nobel Prize Winners
  Interesting facts about Massachusetts
  Massachusetts Links
  Links Click to close menu
  Massachusetts Links
    State Government
    About the 7th District
    Arts, Culture and Attractions
    Chambers of Commerce
    Colleges and Universities
    Exploring Massachusetts
    Hospitals and Health Organizations

  Federal Government Links - Official Government Portal
    Legislative Branch
    Executive Branch
    Judicial Branch
    Federal Agencies
    Kids' Pages
    Register to Vote
    Washington, D.C. Attractions
    Business Opportunities with the Government

  Links For Students
  Contact Mike Click to close menu
  District Office
  Washington, D.C. Office
  Office Hours Program
  Community Meetings
  E-mail Mike's Office